Skip to content

Sunglasses

January 7, 2013
My Baby Banz


In Dubai as soon as an adult steps outside they flick on their shades, nothing unusual about that but when they look at me (and everybody does look at me because I’m so gorgeous) people often comment with an edge of surprise- “Oh, he’s wearing sunglasses!”. Well yes, of course I am, it’s darn bright out here if you hadn’t noticed… ah but you did notice because you’re wearing sunglasses yourself! I find it quite surprising to see so many babies out in bright sunshine with their parents’ eyes fully protected in the latest designer shades, but with their own eyes naked to all that UVA and UVB.

My mum bought me a couple of pairs of sunglasses for me to wear from being just a few months old. To start with I was having none of it and quickly made Mum aware of my views on these plastic contraptions covering my handsome face, but as I approached 4 or 5 months I chilled out about them and even started to rather like them. Now I’m happy to wear them in my stroller, well unless I am really feeling the urge to chew them anyway.

I have two pairs- my favourite is a Baby Banz camouflage style which is held in place with an elastic stretchy band with velcro fastening and much more difficult to prise off my face and into my mouth. They are also pretty cool looking. The others are a more traditional pair of baby sunglasses which I’m wearing in my photo below. Both have 99% UVA and UVB protection which is important otherwise they could do more harm than good causing my eyes to dilate and let more rays in.

From → Keeping cool

5 Comments
  1. murli permalink

    When it comes to selecting sunglasses for your children take time to do a little research before you purchase. It may be tempting to purchase glasses based on their looks, but protecting your children’s eyes is serious business. Here are some smart tips for selecting children and infant sunglasses from the Skin Cancer Foundation:

    Find glasses that block 99-100 percent of both UVA and UVB rays. Wrap style glasses provide additional sun coverage.
    Use playground-proof lenses. Choose impact-resistant, scratch-proof lenses that don’t pop out of the frames. Frames that are bendable but not breakable are also desirable.
    Let them choose. Let the kids choose the glasses so they are more likely to wear them.
    Inspect the glasses. Make sure the glasses are not scratched warped or damaged in any way.
    Double Up. Wear both sunglasses and a protective wide brim hat for the best sun protection.

    You will find all this in Real Kids Shades , Now available in Dubai-UAE

  2. Thanks for the tips Murli!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Vitamin D « babyinthesunshine
  2. Keeping cool in my buggy « babyinthesunshine
  3. My changing bag… or is it a handbag? « Baby in the Sunshine

Leave a Reply

