Skip to content

Porridge fingers

February 16, 2013

Porridge fingers

Porridge fingers

Now I’m just over 6 months old I have started eating food, real food- not baby mush. I’m doing ‘baby led weaning’ which means Mum doesn’t bother (can’t be bothered) with purees and spoon feeding and instead I have finger sized chunks of foods to pick up and munch on. So far I’ve been having sticks of fruit and well cooked veg but Mum recently made porridge fingers from her Baby Led Weaning Cookbook which took her less than 5 minutes and only produced three items of washing up – a cereal bowl, a spoon and a knife! They are very yummy and I even saw Mum munching on some for her breakfast! The recipe is so easy, I could make them myself.

Porridge fingers

Put 4 table spoons of porridge oats (not the instant type) into a small flat bottomed bowl.

Porridge fingers

Add an equal quantity of milk and stir to make a mushy mixture

Porridge fingersPat down in the bowl with the back of the spoon and put into the microwave on high for about 2 minutes.

Porridge fingers

Cut into finger shapes straight away and leave a few minutes to cool before eating.

Porridge fingers

You could add chopped up raisins or dates  for a bit of flavour or even spread with hummus or mashed banana.

From → Feeding

10 Comments
  1. I like it, it may also work for health consious but lazy teenagers, will try it and report back ! Thanks
    monica http://www.doindubai.com

    • Good idea! Maybe in packed lunch boxes too? It’s very low GI so should keep you feeling full for a while. Let me know what the teenager’s verdict is 🙂

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I really like your idea of your blog being from your baby’s perspective! Love this recipe. Going to try it as a school snack…maybe with a little pure honey added……I know I would eat it!

    • Thanks! Yes they are a little bland. I would have added honey to them too but apparently it’s dangerous until I’m 12 months old. Hope they go down well as a school snack. Mum likes them with raisins poked in them just after taking out of the microwave..

      • Yum! Am definitely going to try these out. Sounds like my brekkie (but my brekkie is in a mush form and I am not under 12 months! – Far from it!).

      • Try mashing a banana in the mixture just before you stick it in the microwave – delicious!

      • Have you thought about a Baby Food blog?? Love your ideas….I stuck rigidly to Annabel Karmel….and am sure if I had your imagintion, I could have made those meals (many of which were flung back in my face!) tastier!

      • Glad to like it! Take a look at my new post on Carrot and Cheese Muffins.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Easy Peasy Carrot and Cheddar Muffins | Baby in the Sunshine
  2. Baked Oat Bites: Banana, Apple Cinnamon & Berry Bites | hungry wee man

Leave a Reply

